Apologies if you expect more political discussion

May 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

I don’t do it very often. I’m going to try and go back to working on fiction here. If you need to know my beliefs, they are simple. All human beings regardless of race, gender, sexuality or some other distinction I may be forgetting or omitting deserve the same basic rights and freedoms. Being born in the United States, the US Constitution has greatly affected what I believe those rights should be. I believe we should all get sufficient health care, that we should be allowed to live our lives without being told we can’t marry because we’re gay, that our choices should be respected as long as those choices do not harm another.

The old ‘your right to swing your fist ends where my nose begins’ argument.

I believe in freedom to speak free of government regulation, and the responsibility to stand by your words. I believe anonymity is justified in specific circumstances of government oppression or employers using your out of work statements to punish or fire you, but even then it makes me uncomfortable. My discomfort is simply that, my own, and I don’t expect or wish anyone to do much about or with it.

I defined myself as liberal for most of my life. I opposed the Afghanistan invasion and the Iraqi invasion, and was pretty well lambasted for it. It defined me, in a way that I have a hard time putting down in words, my experience as someone who opposed the government’s shoddy, lie-filled arguments for war and for our surrender of our freedoms. That’s more the Benjamin Franklin fanboy in me, I suppose. Those who surrender essential liberty for temporary security deserve neither.

Okay. That probably clears up nothing at all. In the end, I want you to be free to live, as free as everyone else.

§ One Response to Apologies if you expect more political discussion

  • Andrew Hickey says:

    Sounds fairly liberal to me, at least in the sense in which we use it in the UK (which is different from the USian sense, I know).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Apologies if you expect more political discussion at And fallen, fallen light renew.

meta

